Abhinaya and Angika Veda

Abhinaya and Angika Veda

Abhinaya, Abhinaya and Angika Veda, Acting, Angika VedaThe first book containing details regarding technique and forms of dance was Bharata’s Natya Shastra. Another book on dance is the ‘Abhinaya Darpanam’. It gives the fundamental principles for every technique. The meaning of the word Dharma is code. Natyadharma and Lokdharma are the principal codes of the Indian dance-drama. Natyadharma is understood as the code or rule of conduct for the artist. It teaches the artist or performer the postures and ways to create sincere appreciation in the audience.

Lokadharma: This code asks the player in all earnestness to make use of realism so that he can succeed in swaying his audience. The actor must not merely fake sorrow but must use his emotions such that it will produce genuine grief.

A major difference between these two principal codes of the Indian dance-drama is that the Natya Dharma stresses imaginativeness whereas the Loka Dharma stresses realism.

The types of dramatic expression inspired by four Vedas and based on the four planes are:

Vachik Abhinaya
It is also understood as verbal expression is the actual dialogue. It has its origins in the Rig Veda or Book of Hymns and it is based on the plane audible.

Sattwik Abhinaya
It is the interpretation of moods. This dramatic expression originates from Atharva Veda and is based on astral plane.

Angik Abhinaya
It is the dramatic expression of bodily movements such as action and mime. Angik Abhinaya is derived from the Yajur Veda or book of sacrifices and is based on the divine.

Aharyya Ahbinaya
It is a dramatic expression that relates to the element of decorative effect such as decor and lighting. It is derived from Sama Veda or book of melodies and is based on the plane visual.

Angik Veda

The Angik abhinaya uses three types of body parts to portray actions and reflect emotions. The three types of body parts are listed in the table here. The movements of these various parts are correlated.

This includes major body parts like the hands, legs, head, hips and chest.

This includes the intermediate body parts like the neck, shoulders, back, stomach, elbows, thighs, knees and ankles.

These are the minor body parts such as the lips, mouth, teeth, tongue, nose, cheeks, and eyes.

More Links

Lets Share it ...Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestEmail this to someone